Trimethylsilyl-Induced N–O Bond Cleavage in Nitrous Oxide-Derived Aminodiazotates

<u>Yizhu Liu</u>, Léonard Y. M. Eymann, Euro Solari, Farzaneh Fadaei Tirani, Rosario Scopelliti, and Kay Severin

Institut des Sciences et Ingénierie Chimiques, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), CH-1015 Lausanne, Switzerland yizhu.liu@epfl.ch

Upon chemical activation, nitrous oxide (N₂O) typically acts as a clean O-atom transfer reagent with dinitrogen as the benign byproduct.^[1] Utilization of N₂O as an N-atom donor, on the other hand, has received much less attention. For such purposes, both nitrogen- and carbon-based nucleophiles have been explored but with only limited success, except for N-heterocyclic carbenes (NHCs) which form stable covalent adducts with N2O and can be further functionalized into azo dyes, with the azo group originating from N₂O.^[1] Recently, we have found that lithium dialkylamides, for example lithium diisopropylamide, readily capture N₂O to give metastable lithium dialkylaminodiazotates.^[2] These diazotates undergo N-O Bond Cleavage when treated with Grignard reagents, preserving the N atoms from N₂O in the trisubstitued triazenes products, the latter of which represent highly useful reagents in synthetic organic chemistry. In this study,^[3] we demonstrate that N-trimethylsilyl (TMS)-substituted amides can also form covalent adducts with N₂O. The resulting aminodiazotes undergo spontaneous N–O bond cleavage, giving inorganic or organic azides accompanied with Si-O bond formation. N-TMS-substituted amide was also found to effect N–O bond cleavage in N₂O-derived dialkylaminodiazotates, generating unsymmetrical tetrazene monoanion salts. These results indicate the potential of TMS in devising N₂O transformations where value-added N-containing chemicals can be obtained.



[1] Kay Severin, Chemical Society Reviews, 2015, 44, 6375-6386.

[2] Gregor Kiefer, Tina Riedel, Paul J. Dyson, Rosario Scopelliti, and Kay Severin, *Angewandte Chemie International Edition*, **2015**, *54*, 302-305.

[3] Yizhu Liu, Léonard Y. M. Eymann, Euro Solari, Farzaneh Fadaei Tirani, Rosario Scopelliti, and Kay Severin, *submitted*.